1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cheap solution to use a Tone Hammer without a PA?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Souperman08, Mar 18, 2013.

1. Souperman08

Souperman08

Sep 26, 2010
    So, I'm just starting out gigging and practicing with a band. I already have a bass I love, and I managed to pick up an Aguilar Tone Hammer for cheap. I love how it sounds, and it works great when I have a PA, but I want something portable and cheap for practices and auditions. Would my best option be a combo amp with an effects loop, or something like a powered wedge? I'm open to suggestions. Ideally, I'd like to keep it under $200. Thanks in advance for any and all help!

2. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    I'd just get an amp

3. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    For $200, you're not going to get much unless you buy used. And even then, you're not going to get great stuff. I have a couple less-than-$200 amps that I use sometimes (BA110 is quite sweet for a practice amp), but I'd never show up to an audition with one. You only get one chance to make a first impression.

4. fender_mod

fender_mod

Jun 23, 2005
    Ya you would be surprised how far a little extra money will take you with gear. Even just $350 will get you a pretty decent amp. Save a few dollars and get something you'll actually be proud of.

5. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection.

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    I think I saw a bag end s15d in the classifieds. That would give you a powerful, portable cab for around $300. Pair that up with your TH amp and you have yourself a very capable rig that is portable and not too pricey.

My .02

6. Souperman08

Souperman08

Sep 26, 2010