Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

cheap starter bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by emielow, May 24, 2005.

1. emielow

emielow

Jan 18, 2004
    i know there are many threads are about this, but i have a question...

i play bassguitar for 6/7 years now, and i want to play double bass.. i'm a student and i have to eat also... so i'm thinking about buying the cheapest double bass, to learn it (and take some lessons also) ( if i buy a more expensive bass, i cannot afford lessons...)

so here is my question. I can buy this bass, with bow and cover for 449 euros.. thats about 550/600 USdollars i guess.

[​IMG]

can i buy this one, just to practice a lot, and take lessons, and buy a better one if i have a job etc. and sell this one... or is this bass just some wooden box with 4 strings, that doesn't even play/sound like a bass... ?

for example, i have a fender jazz bass, i can image that i can still learn the bassguitar skills on a cheap-ass jazzbass like this one for 200 euro's

[​IMG]

can i also learn to play double bass on the double bass in the picture?

2. At least it looks like a bass in the photo. What more can one say?

3. M_A_T_T

M_A_T_T

Mar 4, 2004
    Canada
    Those cheapo basses aren't that bad. It'll definately need a proper setup, which can cost $100's of dollars unless you can do that yourself.

To me basses are like any other musical instrument: Why spend thousands of dollars on an instrument you don't even know you'll enjoy playing? Buy a cheap beginner instrument to take your first year or so of lessons on, and if you find you really enjoy the instrument, sell your cheapo (or keep it as a backup) and upgrade.

4. larry

larry Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2004
    Florida