1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Cheapest Foods/Ingredients?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by WyrmDL, Nov 28, 2010.

1. WyrmDL

WyrmDL

Feb 15, 2008
    I am a student. I have low income, and I like to eat and cook.

For the more experienced individuals and cooks, what are your favorite inexpensive foods/ingredients?

I like onions and garlic. I want to say that most of everything I cook will have onions and garlic.

Rice, noodles, and potatoes are cheap too. So a lot of times I will just make something with rice, noodles, or potatoes. Maybe beef or chicken. Apparently tri-cut beef is pretty good for being a fraction of the price of sirloin, but I haven't checked the grocery stores if they have that.

For example, bechamel sauce is pretty inexpensive. Just butter, flour, milk, and spices. Alfredo, on the other hand, is pretty expensive.

Also, I like eating relatively healthy. Looking forward for your insight :D

EDIT: I also love salad, but I haven't looked into prices of already prepared stuff, or if I should just make it all on my own. Also note, that I like food to be relatively simple and fast, unless if it's a slow-cook thing, then I'm ok with that too. Shredded beef makes me excited.

2. Beans are cheap as a mother.

3. WyrmDL

WyrmDL

Feb 15, 2008
    Beans actually never came across my mind. I'm not really a fan of beans though, but I do like them in chili.

4. KsToaDangr

KsToaDangr

Apr 17, 2007
    Columbia, SC