Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Check out my idea for a dp custom

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dean_CustomJazz, Jul 30, 2002.

1. Dean_CustomJazz

Dean_CustomJazz Guest

Jan 23, 2002
    woburn
    I Like the look of this setup. Very much.
    I'd like oppinions:rolleyes:

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Basswood is a great tonewood. But since it's not laminated, I hope you like dented wood that sounds as soft as cotton. :D

Well, you've only got about 95% of your design to go!

3. Prague77

Prague77

Aug 20, 2001
    Waco, TX
    looks ok..i dont like basswood though..how about get a top laminate and a back one and sandwich the basswood in the middle :D

4. Listen

Listen

May 19, 2002
    It looks cool, but I don't know how "efficient" it would be

5. Dean_CustomJazz

Dean_CustomJazz Guest

Jan 23, 2002
    woburn
    btw, im not really good with the wood.
    I think i Might change the P/j to a j/j and angle the neck pup.

6. Dean_CustomJazz

Dean_CustomJazz Guest

Jan 23, 2002
    woburn
    j/j with an angled neck pup.

7. RedV

RedV

Mar 19, 2002
    Eustis, FL
    I think I'd like the second one better.

And I too think basswood wouldn't be a very good top wood. Maybe put maple over the top??

And is that the body shape you want or just a rough sketch.

Alex

8. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member

Wouldn't the J-pickup be angled the other way? I assume you want a little tighter on the lows and a little less bite on the highs.

9. Dean_CustomJazz

Dean_CustomJazz Guest

Jan 23, 2002
    woburn
    by joe your right. Tighter, you look toyt. and it is a rough sketch, but the design is pretty much what I'd Like.