Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Chicago bassists .....

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Black 'n Tan, Apr 8, 2005.

1. I will be in Chicago next week on business and I was wondering if there are any stores that might rent me a bass for a week so I can practice in my hotel room ????

My hotel is the AmeriSuites and its on South Fountain Square Drive, Lombard, Illinois (I assume this is near the downtown area but I'm not sure).

2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    You're nowhere near downtown in Lombard! I'm also not aware of any instrument rentals in town.

What are you looking for - a four or a five?

3. Haha. What am I in the suburbs somewhere?

I would settle for 4 or 5. I'm just starting out. Do you want to loan me yours? $25?

4. Hounddog

Hounddog

Dec 2, 2004
    Southern, Illinois
    Sadowsky Featured Artist
    Black n' Tan,

I work at a Power Plant in Southern Illinois and had to go to Elgin, IL. ( Which is a suburb of Chicago ) last week to our sister Power Plant. I didnt take a Bass with me but I went to Guitar Center right off of I-90 and hung out with the musicians and played a little. I had fun its a nice store and you can play any instrument you want. I think it is on I-90 and Auburn but dont hold me to that address. I am sure there are Bass players from that area that can give you better directions.

5. Joe Boom

Joe Boom

Jun 25, 2004
    Chicago, IL
    It is at I-90 and Arlighton Heights road, in Arlington Heights, a few miles north west of O'Hare.

6. Joe Boom

Joe Boom

Jun 25, 2004
    Chicago, IL
    You are way out in the burbs. And, not in the good ones.

There is a GC in Villa Park, which is about 2 miles from Lombard.

7. HeavyDuty

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    "Not in the good ones"? Huh?