Chicago-Land Service?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Speedbird, Jan 30, 2004.

1. Speedbird

Speedbird Supporting Member

Jul 10, 2000
    Northern Virginia
    I'm kinda new to Chicago-Land and need a recomendation for a nice shop. Need to have my Modulus set-up / tuned / adjust neck / adjust G-string spacing / Clean pots ect. The only place I've noticed is Guitar Center and a crappy 2nd hand joint in my town. I do NOT trust them with my $2K bass. I live ~45 miles NW of Chicago but I commute to O'hare almost every day. The perfect solution would be something in between. I am willing to drive ~1.5 hrs for 1st class service. Any recommendations greatly appreciated.

JAUQO III-X Banned

Jan 4, 2002
    Endorsing artist:see profile.
    Hello I live in Chicago and the only person I would recomend is Todd Seefeld of Guitar Remedies(it's his own co.) he does repairs and restorations and he has done some very fine work for me in the past that has allways left me very satisfied.he can be reached at
    Tell Todd I said hello and in Chicago never trust a GC to do any setup work for you.
  3. Gsxtasy99

Jul 10, 2003
    Boston, MA
    When i'm in chicago, i go to 3rd Coast. They know what they're doing, and they charge reasonable prices. I had them put new electronics in my pentabuzz and do some fretwork on my elrick, and i have only praise for them.
  4. Go with Todd Seefeld. I have used Third Coast and did not have a good experience. It depends on who works on your bass there whether you will. Todd is a one man shop and is excellent. His prices are reasonable and his work is first-rate. I live an hour and a half from the city in Indiana and I go to Todd. Good luck.
  5. Gsxtasy99

Jul 10, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Can i ask what happened? I've only had good experiences, but would hesitate to bring my basses back to them if you have some horror story.
  6. Kindness

Oct 1, 2003