Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

chilis-dont forget me

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by chillwinsten, Oct 16, 2005.

1. chillwinsten

chillwinsten

Oct 16, 2005
    :hyper: im new to playing bass so sorry if this extreme newbie question but wat is flea doing in between every like time he plays a chord he does sumting like 4 times, on tabs it shows it as x's in rows of four?

please help :help:

2. Unchain

Unchain I've seen footage.

Jun 20, 2005
    Tucson, AZ
    Mutes the strings with his left hand and quickly hits them.

3. Chili

Chili

Mar 8, 2005
    Newcastle/England
    there mutes, flea uses a pick when he plays this, so basicly hit them covering the strings but not pressing them down so they dont make any note

4. Unchain

Jun 20, 2005
    Tucson, AZ
    Excuse me? No, I'm sorry, Flea does not use a pick. He just slaps the strings.

5. PunkerTrav

PunkerTrav

Jul 18, 2001
    Canada & USA

In all fairness, it really does sound like Flea is strumming those chords with a pick.

Also, I think I read in a BP around the time that album came out that he did in fact use a pick on that track. I could be mistaken though.

6. Chili

Chili

Mar 8, 2005
    Newcastle/England
    where have u saw him not use a pic when playing that? every live show i have seen him play that song he has used a pic, and that is alot of shows, i'm not sayin he has never slapped them but i have never seen him do it

he uses a pick for venice queen aswell

7. yeah, i thought flea started using a pick now...they made a big deal of it in his last BP cover story...i hear he studies jazz too...

8. Hookus

Hookus

Oct 2, 2005
    Austin, TX
    Which would be ironic, since he did in fact begin his music career as a trumpet player, jazz, I beleive, and his father played jazz. At least I think that's how the story goes.

9. 60hz

60hz

Oct 7, 2005