Choices... which one of these heads?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MrOrange, Jul 14, 2004.

1. MrOrange

Jul 14, 2004
    Discoville, IF

I'm steadily making my way into the honorable low-frequency producing world of bassists, and am shopping for a head to cover studio and live needs. Because I'm not a wealthy person and all the gear in the world is not available for me, I've currently narrowed down my alternatives to a Hartke 3500 (new) and a Marshall DBS 7200 (used).

As you might've suspected, I'd need recommendations to help me make up my wretched mind.

The Marshall would be about $150 (or 120 euro) cheaper than the Hartke.

Any suggestions will be entertained. :help:
  2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    its hard to say w/o knowing the wattage of the heads
    i have no experience with the marshall, the hartke is an "ok" head
  3. MrOrange

Jul 14, 2004
    Discoville, IF
    The Marshall is 200W and the Hartke 350W.
  4. hetsscaryguy

May 22, 2004
  5. Rockbobmel

Rockbobmel Supporting Member

I use a 3500 for backup now my Mesa is fixed. It is about the most Band for Buck you can get. Especially used. It is flexible, powerful, sounds excellent, and reliable and inexpensive. I know nodda about Marshall SS stuff.
  6. TheChariot

Jul 6, 2004
    Boston, MA
    I would go for the Hartke... mainly because Marshall is surely not known for producing bass amplifiers, despite making world-class guitar heads. It's going to be worth the extra money, I would assume. You did mention live usage.... and... 200W... idk about that. 350W would at least get you by (at first).

What kind of speakers are you looking at??
  7. MrOrange

Jul 14, 2004
    Discoville, IF
    Speakers? Most likely a 1x15, perhaps a 4x10. Haven't made up my mind yet.
  8. Beammeup

Oct 7, 2002
    Mjallow MrOrange,

I'd certaintly go for the Marshall.