1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Choosing a 5er for short hands

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fluffster, Mar 23, 2009.

1. Fluffster

Fluffster

Jun 7, 2007
    Time to stop lurking :)

I'm wondering which 5 stringer to buy for around $400 or under, used or new. I currently have a "35 Ibanez BTB 405 on loan, and while I like many things about this bass (balance, thin neck, 19mm spacing) it always ends up hurting my wrists. I've been playing for 15 years and don't have this problem with my 4-stringers(34" Bass Collection SB-301 with Bartolini PUs and a fretless 35" Warwick Corvette) so I don't think I have inherently bad technique. I've seen others mention the BTB's wrist-breaking abilities so it seems I'm not alone and I hope I'm not about to start another round in the 34" vs 35" debate, although I'm leaning towards 34". :) I'm a small guy (5'6") with short hands so I have to hang those buggers high.

Unfortunately there's little opportunity to try many basses out here on this small island so I'm likely going to have to buy sight unseen. :meh:

I wonder if it's the 19mm spacing on a 5er that's killing me. I'm sure I could get used to 16.5 but I find it easier to switch basses if the spacing is similar - that's a bullet I'm willing to bite if it can save my wrists, though!

Any thoughts? I'm partial to a punchy, midrange-y growl.

2. BassBob185

BassBob185

Oct 25, 2007
    Rocking Chair