Choosing a Bass Guitar

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Eslam ELbatat, Oct 3, 2017.

1. Eslam ELbatat

Eslam ELbatat

Oct 3, 2017
    Egypt
    Hello Im a new bassist and I have two guitar
    one of them is Hohner PJ Bass 4 strings and it's very old
    and the other is Ibanez GSR180 4 strings
    and im a little bit confused about which one would I use for live performing
    and which one is better for recording? Im thinking about upgrading them and I don't know what upgrade would I add to them..best pickups? best gear?
    I hope that I find proper answers for my questions from you
    Thank you in advance

Pbassmanca likes this.
  2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Which one do you like better?

smogg, BurnOut and garp like this.
  3. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    Everyone is different. I've seen people on stage with Squiers and less. The Beatle bass was about the cheapest thing Paul could find.

What do you like and think sounds better. But if you don't know about gear, I wouldn't be modding. If you don't think your instruments are good enough for your needs, sell to a beginner and get a better bass - better one good bass than lots of trash.

4. Maxdusty

Maxdusty

Mar 9, 2012
    Michigan USA
    There isn't really anything that's a "beginners bass", there are inexpensive basses with less quality parts. :)

I'm actually very familiar with both basses - I owned a Hohner PJ bass (Hohner PJ Professional on the headstock- I gave it to a fellow bass player in need of a bass a couple of years ago) and still have my Ibanez GSR180. I'm not a beginner, have been playing for 30+ years.