Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Choosing a teacher

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by JimmyM, Apr 11, 2005.

1. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Hi, hope I put this in the right forum...

I'm a career electric bassist who just two weeks ago bought his first upright (an Upton plywood bass with Revolution Solo pickup and Glasser bow). I started out playing mostly rock and roll and funk, but over the past few years I've branched out into jazz more and more and I'm fairly accomplished with the theory, though like everyone I still have plenty to learn. But now I want to get serious about playing jazz on an upright so I can book some of the cool jazz casuals around Orlando. I also would like to learn how to use this bow and get into some classical music, but getting good enough to book jazz gigs is my prime concern at the moment.

The thing I'm not sure about is what kind of teacher I should get. Should I be looking for one who specializes in jazz, or should I be looking for a classical teacher? Do jazz teachers as a rule teach you how to play arco? Do classical players often double on jazz enough to straighten you out on it occasionally?

Also, I have a question about strings. I'm considering switching the strings on my bass from Obligatos to guts because I'll also be playing some swing and rockabilly and slap is really hard on the fingers even with Obligatos. I'm trying to make my bass a jack of all trades as much as possible, and while I think guts will do fine on a pizz jazz gig, how would they do for bowing? Am I going to have to jump through hoops to be able to get a good sound with a bow on guts?