1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Chord Extensions

Discussion in 'Ask David Overthrow' started by joedecenso, May 16, 2011.

1. joedecenso

joedecenso

May 9, 2011
    I'am a new memeber to this site. I started studying theory about 5-6 months ago and love it. I own all of your books, Beginning - Mastering, those books tought me alot of what I know and are an excellent tool. Having said that, I have a few questions. My question is about chord extensions. I have multiple books that talk about chord extensions and describe them as: You stack additional thirds to get chord extensions 9, 11, and 13. My question is, extensions 9, 11, and 13 are, as you know, scale degrees 2, 4, 6 transposed an octave higher. I found out something that contradicts the process of adding a third on top of a seventh chord. When I stack a third on a seventh (C maj 7) I get the note D# (8th fret on the G string) which is a half-step above D ( in the key of C major), the second scale degree. I found out that the distance from the seventh of the Cmaj 7 chord to the 9th is a flat third. The seventh is a F#. The second scale degree, transposed up an octave, is a D natural. I have noticed this in several other books as well, that these extensions are a third away. I'am I missing something? Why does this occur? Am I wrong?

2. You stack diatonic thirds. So for example in the key of C Major you have C to E which is a major third, E to G which is a minor third, G to B which is a major third B to D which is a minor third etc... You can tell if it will be major or minor depending on what the chord would be for that note. Once again in C major, E is the third chord which is Minor. Therefore you add a minor third. David can probably explain this better than me, but I hope that helps a little.

3. Art Araya

Art Araya