Christopher carved busetto 5

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by MerryPrankster, Feb 23, 2004.

1. I am a 16 year old high school student and I am at the point of deciding my career. I want to be a bass player. Hopefully orchestral (jazz side gigs would be nice.) The point is i need a bass. I am lucky enough to have parents who will help me greatly and right now i have landed my sights on Christophers master series 7/8 busetto 5.

I haven't found any information on the high end christophers.Any opinions? Are the christopher 5's too flat or do they curve too much etc.,.
  2. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    I have no knowledge of that particular bass. There was a fairly interesting thread not too long ago

concerning 5-string basses in general. I think the consensus was that it is pretty difficult to construct a five string DB with consistent tone on the whole neck.

The interest in the subject went so far as to even suggest dissecting the apparently stunning 5er owned by TB's own Mr. Warburton. I don't think he was quite ready to donate his family to science.

I do know that we have at least one TBer, Pacman, with a fully-carved Christopher four string who is most impressed with it. I have played a Chrissy hybrid recently and thought it was a very nice bass.

That being said, you'd have to play the bass in question and judge for yourself. You never really know until then.

Why the interest in a five string?
  3. godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    One of my students owns one of the 5ers that Bob G. sells. Overall the tone is good on EADG but the B string, well, it is not the equal of the others.

Plus the fingerboard feels like the runway on an aircraft carrier it is so wide !
  4. I like the five stringers because A) they are kool
    B) Range-dont like extentions
    would get a four if it sounds better though.
    (and eventually get an extension)
  5. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA