1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Chunk Systems Agent 00Funk Mark II - Impressions

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Col200, Sep 18, 2008.

1. Col200

Col200

Feb 18, 2007
    For what it's worth, I thought I'd share some impressions of the Agent00Funk.
    Here's my story. I'm a funk bassist and picked up a Bassballs a few years ago (Still one of my favorite pedals). I needed more Envelope so I dove in and bought a Qtron+. I liked it, for the most part. The thing that got me was the insane volume spike. I'd peak out the PA during every single show. It became a nightmare trying to tame the thing (does anyone else have that problem?) so I ventured out in seek of another filter. Next up was the Boss Auto-Wah. No volume spike, clean sounding, sterile...lifeless.
    I finally picked up the Chunk Agent 00Funk after reading good things about it. To sum it up, I think this is the one I've been looking for all along! The envelope sound of this pedal ranges from deep swells to tight and punchy blips. The main feature of this pedal is the 'squelch' knob. It turns a nice envelope swell into the wettest sound imaginable. I dialed in the wettest sound I've ever heard using the Agent and ...sit down....a Fuzz face! :) A pedal that never quite worked well with bass.

The controls are VERY touchy with this pedal. I found the slightest change in any of the knobs makes a drastic change in the sound. Also, the controls are very active, much like an older 3-band EQ. For instance, if you adjust the "smoothness" of the swell, you will probably lose some depth unless you adjust either the 'sweep' or the 'pitch' as well. Some settings prove to have no effect, whatsoever (Which was scary at first). This would benefit from some kind of markings on the pedal if you plan on adjusting the effect during a show (Which I did with the Qtron all the time).