Church musicians

Discussion in 'Ask Todd Johnson [Archived]' started by quiey, Jan 23, 2006.

1. quiey

Feb 16, 2004
    In your interview you stated that church musicianship is pretty low. I've actually had the opposite experience. Some of the best musicians I've ever heard and met were in church. Also a lot of the guys who I will play secular gigs or sessions with who are awesome musicians either cut their teeth at church and/or still play at church. As a private instructor I found that musicianship was about the same for my students who wanted to play at church or who wanted to play else where. I do understand that at a lot of churches the musicianship is not up to a modern day J.S. Bach but is that just the church or musicianship in general?
  2. Todd Johnson

Todd Johnson

Sep 27, 2005
    Anthem, AZ
    Hi Dale,

Hey, thanks for your comments! Actually, I know a bunch of phenomenal "church musicians" etc. ....and there are churches full of them.....THANKFULLY!!!:hyper: Can I get an AMEN?!

But, I also hear/see a TON of folks......who mean well.....but are lacking in preparation.....practice....musicianship skills etc. They're not bringing their best "offering" to the alter....know what I mean?? That's my frustration....The praise choruses etc. are really stuck in a rut....I'm dying to hear better song writing....some better harmony.... To me, so much of the music has been dumbed down to the point that it's really frustrating.

God has given us a HUGE smorgasboard of harmony, styles, grooves etc. It's a shame we don't take advantage of more of it on a regualr basis. you's not just the church, but musicianship skills in general are down....across the board. Mediocrity is not only's cherished and celebrated.

But, as Christians, we are called to a higher least the way I understand it....I don't mean to be preachy here, OK.....But we're called to bring GOD our best.