Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cirrus 5 or Pedulla MVP5?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bassin4him, May 22, 2002.

1. bassin4him

bassin4him

Apr 29, 2002
    Tulsa, OK
    I'm a fairly new bassist (but an old musician) and play in my church's praise band (contemporary Christian). I presently have a Fender P-Bass Lyte Deluxe, which is very comfortable to play, but I have yet to coax that certain "growl" that I like out of this instrument. I'm also interested in changing from 4 to 5-string.

I really like the tone the bassist gets in the recordings done by the praise band at Hillsong Church (Australia), and I've learned he uses a Pedulla MVP5. The cost of a new MVP5 is beyond my affordability, but I have considered buying a new Cirrus 5 Bubinga/Walnut at approx. $1300.

I think a used MVP5 can be purchased used for $1500 or so. Will the Cirrus 5 provide this "tone" I'm after? (Yea, I know, "tone" is very subjective!)

Anyone have any suggestions? Playability and tone are my priorities.

Don

(Thanks malthumb for your advice; I'm starting a new thread in hopes of getting better response.)

2. I played an MVP4 yesterday and found it to be very, very trebly. I'm not sure if you'd like that tone. The Cirrus basses come in a variety of wood combinations and I'm sure one of them would have the tone you're looking for.

3. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    What kind of growl are you looking for? Any examples would help. Maurice Fitzgerald got a ton of growl out of a Cirrus. Others get great growl out of stock MIA JD5's (Fender's Made in America Jazz Deluxe five). A brand new Fender FMT 5, which is a MIA JD5 with a figured Maple top is well within your price range.