1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Class D modulation noise

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by micguy, Mar 13, 2018.

1. micguy

micguy

May 17, 2011
    I'm posting this looking for help from someone who knows class D amps really well. I design audio gear for a living (but haven't done work on class D amps), so feel free to get a bit technical if need be.

I have one and only one gig where I need an amp, and it's a quiet gig - I have to keep up with an acoustic piano, and that's about it. I have a little 110 cabinet that I built that works great - puts out plenty for this application, and fits easily in my trunk. The trouble I'm having is with modulation noise (or something that sounds like modulation noise) - it's a little like a speaker buzz, but not quite - more white in spectrum than that, and it happens over a wider dynamic range than a speaker buzz, though there is harmonic content related to the original signal as well. I'm nowhere near clipping or the physical limits of the speaker when this happens. There is a bit of a whine when I'm not playing, but that's very quiet. When I play, the fuzzy, whitish noise moves up and down with the signal. I don't think the audience hears it much, especially when others are playing, but I certainly do, being right on axis of the speaker.

I think it's a power issue - at home, I can't replicate it _ I have literally turned the speaker upside down, and on its side to make sure it's not in the speaker. I've used 3 different amps, and a couple different basses trying to get it to misbehave at home, but so far, no issues at home with that speaker or either of 2 amps.