Class of amplifiers!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mettec, Feb 21, 2006.

1. mettec

Aug 22, 2005
    I have been reading lately that certain manufactures put a "Class" to their amps for instance... Ampeg's new SVT-8PRO uses a "Class-D" amp, Gallien-Krueger's new Fusion 500 uses a "Class-G" Solid state amp, EA i800 has a "Class-D" amp. What does the Class signify as to how the amp works or is built? Is there a A,B,or C Class amps? Just curious.
  2. Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
  3. alanbass1

Feb 8, 2006
    I'm not an expert, but as I understand it, class A amps are generally single ended 'push' only type. These are very inefficient but highly sought after by guitarists (myself included) for their three dimesional soundstaging, harmonic content and musical break up properties. Class A/B and class B are push pull variants which are more efficient power wise but, to many, at the expense of tone. As an example, my Carr Rambler in triode (class A) mode delivers a watts from 2 6L6 power valves. My Victoria Low Powered Twin, which runs in Class A/B, delivers 40 watts of power through the same two 6L6's.

This is where my knowledge really falls down, but it seems that when the ratings go into D, and beyond, it seems to be how the power delivery is maintained through the power supply. The efficiency seems to be increased with a subsequent increase in power output for the same size (weight) of transformer. It seems that in bass amplification, efficiency, headroom and power delivery takes precedence over the 'musical break-up' properties and therefore are more prevalent in bass amp design.

As I say, my knowlege is quite sketchy on this and I'm sure others will have a better technical explanation.
  4. seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    Google: Amplifier Classes

You'll get plenty of hits.