Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Classical guitar & bass dilemma

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Bardolph, Jan 9, 2006.

1. Bardolph

Bardolph

Jul 28, 2002
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I've been playing bass for over 4 years now, and it's definitely my thing, I'll never stop. But recently I've really been getting into classical guitar, which I like almost as much. I know the real serious thing to do with classical guitar is to grow out your nails to use to pick the strings, and this is for several reasons, the most obvious of which is that it sounds way better than bare fingers. The thing is, I can't grow out my nails without seriously hindering my bass playing (incidentally, I also like to bowl). I know there are finger picks that you can wear, but the ones I've tried definitely were not a simulation of long nails. Is there something specifially for classical guitarists that is made for being like nails, except removable?

2. justateenpoet

justateenpoet Have you...killed the Venture brothers!?!?

May 14, 2005
    Connecticut
    I'm in a similar situation as yourself, but I've never grown out my nails, mostly because I can mess them up doing pretty most anything, let alone playing bass.

I did read somewhere that Paul McCartney used fake nails on his last tour of the states, you might want to try that. They're fairly inexpensive, and you can buy pretty small boxes.

3. ole Jason

ole Jason Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003
    Louisville, KY
    Fake nails don't just 'pop off' when you're not playing guitar though. For them to be effective they need to be glued on.