Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Classical music suggestions

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Michael Jewels, May 29, 2002.

1. I know we did this with Blues, Sax, Jazz and a few others, but, what classical music would you recommend listening to and buying. I'm not a novice by any means, but, I'm not an authority on the subject either. Some that I know well are:

Vivaldi ------- The four seasons
    Beethoven --- 5th and 9th symphonies
    Debussy ----- Beau Soir
    Chopin -------Opus 66
    Holst -------- The Planets

I'm also just discovering Brahms. Any and all recommendations are appreciated. Also, if possible, describe whether the piece or composer is mellow like Debussy or brash like Uranus from Holst's Planets. I prefer mellow mostly, but, loud and explosive is good too. List as many as you can.

Go ahead, spend my money. :)

Mike J.

2. DanGouge

DanGouge

May 25, 2000
    Canada!
    I've always been partial to Handel. I know some people can't stand him, but I generally find his stuff agreeable. The Messiah is the obvious pick among his work if you want one particular recommendation. Also check out Samuel Barber. His Adagio for Strings was the main theme used in the film Platoon. It's sort of serene but unnerving at the same time.

3. Blux

Blux

Feb 5, 2002
    Philadelphia, Pa.
    Mike,

A favorite is Saint Saens, Synphonie No. 3 (the Organ Symphonie) and it has it all. It is incredible to listen to through a good stereo (when you cannot hear it live). When you get to the TB Phlliy Get-together, I'll play the CD for you and see what you think.

Another is Beethoven's String Quartets Op. 74. in E-flat major ("the Harp") and Op.95.in. f minor ("Quartetto Serioso") by the Cleveland Quartet on Telarc records

Dennis