Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Classical on electric

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by b0nes83, May 31, 2002.

1. b0nes83

b0nes83

Dec 14, 2000
    I wasn't sure where to put this on the TB threads so i gave it to you mike. What are your thought on classical music being played on electric basses?
    I played 2 movements off of the 6 sonatas for double bass bye Antonio Vivaldi last semester. easy to play but i was not impressed by the way it came out on the electric. Now I am studying Dragonetti's concerto in A Major and I was wondering if you have ever heard or have played this piece and was wondering if you have and techniques or finger patterns i could use for the fast 16th and triplet runs. Thanks,
    Chad

2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    Chad,

The electric bass is just a tool to express your musicianship. The style of music and the instrument that it is played on are irrelevant ... that being said

Classical music has often been thought of as music that intepretation, improvisation and embellishement were to be kept at a minimum. The voice of the composer was paramount. That has become much less of an issue. You are free to intepret the music as you wish (although some of your professors might be upset). You need to find your "voice" on your instruments and apply it to the music. Interpret the pieces as you hear them, not as the way they are "supposed to sound". Man, break the rules - in fact, make all new ones. Jaco did!!

I am not familiar with the piece - if you scan the passage for me and email it to me at mike@michaeldimin.com I'd be willing to take a look at it.

Mike

3. b0nes83

b0nes83

Dec 14, 2000