Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

clicking sound

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by qsoxy, May 4, 2001.

1. qsoxy

qsoxy

May 4, 2001
    I am a beginning bassist with a dumb question: The way I pluck the bass strings, my finger pushes the string toward the fretboard before release. When I play hard, the strings tap against the fretboard and make a clicking noise that registers thru the amp. Is this an acceptable sound for rocknroll, or do I need to change the way I pluck the string to eliminate the clicking sound? For example I commonly end up making the sound during quick tremolos. Acceptable?

2. Sounds like your actions a bit high. Take it to wherever you bought it and they'll adjust it to your liking at little or no cost. Don't leave there until they show you how to do it , you might want to re-adjust it as your playing style matures and developes

3. If the strings are slapping on the fretboard during an attack , depending where on the neck he's fretting , the strength of his attack and where he actually plucks the strings....... from what I understood of his question it may be the solution ( raising the strings a bit ). Maybe not , I'd have to see the bass.......hell , maybe I'm wrong. Either way it's normally not a sound people shoot for...... maybe try playing toward the bridge more if you like digging in.

4. Yeah.... sorry about that..my bad .....I meant too low. in real life I'm not an idiot....just tired..........thanks for pointing that out..

5. brewer9

brewer9

Jul 5, 2000
    I get that same clicking sound. I used to get it a lot more which was too much and now its acceptable. The difference is that I got a new rig. I used to have a tinny, trebly Hartke system and now I have a thunderous and clear Mesa-Boogie system. I still play way too hard, but it works for me.