Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

clickitty clack!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Scott Cutrer, Sep 22, 2001.

1. Scott Cutrer

Scott Cutrer Guest

Aug 21, 2000
    Richmond, VA
    OK, I am tired of this. I have been playing for over 15 years and have recently discovered a problem in my technique that was not there before. When I play finger style, I get a clacking sound on the neck when my fingers are on two adjacent strings. EX. if my (left hand) firts finger is on the f on the d string(3rd fret) and my 3rd finger is on the d on the a string(5th fret), I get a loud clacking sound when my picking finger hits the a string after I have hit the d string. It is the raking Jacoish kind of style that I have used on Fender basses for years. Now I thought it was just my Stingray 5, so I sold it, but it is also on both G&Ls and now the Modulus Q6. This has never been a problem before. I have allways had low action and no finger noise, but now it sounds as though I am playing too hard. Could it be the strings? I notice it much less when there are Ken Smith Rockmasters on my G&L than when I had DR's on them!?!? Any advice appreciated.
    Scott

2. Funny I have had this problem as well. I also reduced the problem with Ken Smith strings, but not with the RockMasters. I was a real hard player and playing lighter helps but I am wondering if it is because your Fenders had non-active pickups and your newer basses are active. I noticed that hotter pickups grab a lot more noise. It could be a set up thing but it may be the active pickups. On another note I know that when I play my RIC 4001 I have to be more gentle because the pickups tend to grab alot of finger noise.
    Good Luck.

3. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY