1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Clipping on my EdenWT 800 Head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ModulusQ6, Oct 10, 2013.

1. ModulusQ6

ModulusQ6

Sep 1, 2013
    Hey guys,

I just joined about a month ago. I used to just scour the website but then decided to be a member. Anywho, this is my first post and I'm having a problem.

I recently bought an Eden WT 800 (version C) and an Eden XLT 4x10 cab to go along with it. So far I'm just using the one cab. I've played two gigs with it thus far.

The issue I'm having is that when I play out and I pump up my sound, the left output light on the front is turning red when I play some thumping low notes. This never happens at home because I don't have to play loud at home, but gigs I gotta turn up.

I have my master right at 10 o' clock, gain is just a tad to the left of noon, and bass volume on my Modulus is almost all the way up. And since I'm only using 1 speaker, the speaker is going into the "Amp/Out High" input. The Eden XLT 4x10 is 8 ohms so I don't think that's the issue. I put the volume knob on the back of speaker between 12 and 1 o'clock.

So what is causing this clipping? There are a lot of inputs on the back of the Eden head so am I using the wrong one? I figured that this head could get really loud, but I'm getting that scary red light so I'm worried. Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks guys

2. stretch80

stretch80

Jan 31, 2005
    I think from what you said that you need to run your master volume higher, and the gain and your instrument volume lower.

The red light is telling you that the level of your bass (controlled by the combo of instrument volume and gain) is overloading the preamp.

Try this:

- Set your instrument volume at say 2/3
    - Set gain at 11:00 or noon.