1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cmaj7

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by WalkUpright, Mar 12, 2013.

1. WalkUpright

WalkUpright

Feb 18, 2013
    Question- I’m relatively new to theory so please bear with me but I’m a little confused by this. When someone tells you that a certain chord is for example Cmaj7, they are referring to from what I understand as the 7th note in the major scale of C. So B.

Why wouldn’t they just say the chord is a B. Instead of a progression that looks like C-G-Cmaj7-D etc? Is this information more pertinent for guitar than bass and that’s why it seems like it’s intentionally overcomplicated? I guess it would make it easier to transpose keys but you’ll still know that a B is the 7th tone in the scale regardless of how its listed. Any insight would be appreciated.

2. patplaysbass

patplaysbass Supporting Member Commercial User

Jul 7, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA
    Soon-to-be-ex Musician's Friend/Guitar Center Employee
    Cmaj7 means a C major chord (CEG) plus the 7th note of the scale- B. So CEGB.

3. elgecko

elgecko

Apr 30, 2007
    Anasleim, CA
    Um....because aside from a B, a B chord has completely different notes than a Cmaj7.

4. patplaysbass

Jul 7, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA
  5. WalkUpright

WalkUpright

Feb 18, 2013

Alright this I understand, but from the bassists perspective you aren't playing those like a traditional chord on the guitar so would you target a B there?

6. speeves

speeves

Apr 18, 2008
    Nevada
    Youwould if you wanted to change the inversion of the chord that is playing above you. This changes the way the chord sounds and how it is used to lead to another chord

7. patplaysbass

Jul 7, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA