Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by sixxstringz, Dec 2, 2003.

1. Hey need some help here...
    I'm from south india, which has a tropical very humid warm climate... I have been playing bass for 7 years and done a lot of studio work and live shows in and around south india.
    The new BIG band I joined is travelling up north for a show next week and the temperature there is about 5 degrees celcius...which for me is very cold. I have never played on stage under such conditions and would like to know if there is something i can do to keep my fingers warm on stage as the songs we're playing require a lot of dexterity...
  2. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    The only thing that I have done during cold, outdoor shows is to where a pari of gloves and cut the fingers off.

3. Im a sock

Im a sock

Dec 23, 2002
    Central MA
    I've run warm water on my hands before I warm up, with some success. If you're playing something where your fingers move alot, once they're warmed up, they should stay that way.
  4. CS

Dec 11, 1999
    Fingerless gloves are probably the best option (as Mike stated, hello Mike) if you cannot get on with them then try wearing gloves up to the point you need to play. If there's an interval, put the gloves back on.

The extremities go first, ie hands and feet get cold but if you keep the core (ie your body and head) warm you should be alright.

If you generally feel the cold wear a number of thin layers, two T Shirts and a thin jumper/sweatshirt/fleece should do the trick.

Exercise can help, although it might look strange if you run a mile before you go on stage. I ran to a friends house in a thin jumper and then was told that it was -4.

Heat is lost through the head so maybe a hat is an option.