1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

colder weather and tuning

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by wrench45us, Dec 12, 2011.

1. wrench45us

wrench45us

Aug 26, 2011
    with the coming of winter, I'm having to retune a lot. My house has gotten colder and any time spent sitting in the car doesn't seem to help. I've dropped almost a half tone since summer.

I thought with s Steinberger this wouldn't be such an issue. I guess I was wrong or there's more wood involved than graphite carbon.

Since I'm new to all this I assume this is standard procedure.
    Any advice to minimize and/or stabilize the tuning come winter.

2. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    Are you always playing in your house? Are you taking your basses into other climates (even indoors) for gigs?
    Best is always to acclimate your basses the best you can. Sometimes you can't.
    I had a SoundGear bass with a very very skinny neck. Man, I had to chase that neck down at least once per gig with an Allen/hex wrench to keep it playable.
    So the best way, really, is to keep temperature and humidity stable to the best of your ability.

Also, I am not sure about your problem.
    In my experience, the cold tends to tighten up things which would make tuning go sharp, not flat.

3. Arranger

Arranger

Mar 9, 2003
    Pennsylvania
    The most important issue in tuning for a normal instrument with a wood neck is humidity. The colder the temperature, the less moisture there will be in the air and therefore the neck will dry out somewhat. When the neck goes dry, it has less internal tension and tends to loosen up on the strings a bit. Therefore, the pitch drops. In the spring when the humidity returns, it's normally necessary to tune down because most instruments start going sharp.