Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

College Auditions Questions

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by mazaremba, Oct 20, 2004.

1. mazaremba

mazaremba

Apr 15, 2004
    I am hoping someone here can give me some clear advice on colleges and the programs they offer.

I should give you some background information first. I just started playing double bass in June/July of this summer, before that I had been a so-so trumpet player. Well I have really come to love the double bass and I am advancing pretty quickly. I practice about 2 hours a night after schoolwork, so I am considering majoring in a performance degree. Although, because my family does not have a lot of money, I have to go to community college first. Well I have no problem with this, because I want to first get an A.D. in Nursing. (That way I can support myself, until I was able to hopefully make it into an orchestra.)

What I don't understand is if you go to Northwestern University in Illinois, there school of music has nothing written about academic requirements. My biggest concern is my ACT score. (A 22) Does the ACT make a differnce with music performance majors? Would they look down on me for not choosing the music first and then the nursing? Would I have an easier time getting in or a harder time being a transfer student? (Assuming by then I was a top notch player, who was very serious about the instruement.)

If you could just explain your experinces that would help a lot. BTW, I want to study orchestral music mostly, I don't know if that makes a differnce.

2. Alex Scott

Alex Scott

May 8, 2002
    Austin, TX
    most of the time, you can do some core classes like english and math at the community college, then transfer a little easier. Plan that all out and double check that you will get credit before you do it though.

also, consider a cheaper school. It may not be worth the debt.