College: To be tied down or not?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by tplyons, Oct 19, 2005.

1. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    You guys know the drill, I'm a freshman in college, dating my high school sweetheart for 18 months and am starting to second guess myself because I'm in college and she's back home. She's a tad insecure in the fact that she thinks she's no longer part of my life, because I can't simply pack up and drive home every weekend. I CAN, but I don't want to so I can experience college life on weekends and what not. Not that I don't want a girlfriend, and I know things have been great with her, it's just a problem that's been plaguing my mind for quite some time. Do you think college is a time to get out of relationships and start anew, or hold on to what you have?

I'm 18, freshman in college, Moravian College in Bethlehem PA to be exact. Dating the same awesome girl back home in Jersey an hour away for 18 months. Shes 17 and a senior in high school.

Besides the GF there are a few other girls in my life, all good friends, but their presense keeps the girlfriend on her toes and she's freaking out, and every time she sees me, she wants to "make me happy" by buying cute new panties and other things, which don't get me wrong, I like them, but I refuse to have a relationship based sole-ly on sex.

I don't call EVERY night because my evenings are as busy as my days, but I try to talk to her most nights, 10 minutes here or there to see whats up, but she has her life away from me and I have mine away from her. She still freaks out when shes finding out I'm watching a movie with friends and two happen to be some of my best female friends. Yes, I know I'm a bit of a flirt, I'm friendly, and yes these ladies are cute, but I love plutonic friendships with people that you like, can watch a movie with, possibly even fall asleep and wake up the next morning without freaking out that you have another man sleeping on top of you.