Combo amp advice request

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ultravisitor, Nov 20, 2004.

1. ultravisitor

Nov 11, 2004

I am in need of a combo amp for solo practise, rehearsal and small gigs (100 persons max). Ideally, I would like to use the amp with both an electric Warwick four string and an upright. I play fusion and free jazz styles (no rock) and I do not believe I am in great need of massive lows as I tend not to play the E string very often. I am a student and therefore my budget is around 700 USD max although I would like to spend less if possible. Also, I have noticed that the bass players in the university music department use small, angled Hartke combos (no microphone) when performing in the recital halls, perhaps with only one 10 inch speaker.

2. xb100

Mar 24, 2004
    NH, In
    Try the peavey tnt 115 combo or the peavey combo 115.

Both very good bass combos and very loud.
  3. Perhaps a small combo of the Ashdown variety would be a good starting point. The model that comes to mind is the MAG 210.

I have owned ashdown's entry level combos, the Electric Blue. Mine was an English made EB 150 112. This was a lightweight amp with a very honest and warm tone. Considering it was only $330 new, it is a bargain, and will blow those aluminum can combos back to the recycle center- both in tone and output.

Maybe an Eden Nemises. The 210 is nice, but arguably would be overkill for your current venue.

I have an Eden CXC 110. I paid about 600 USD new for it, and have recently added the ext. cab at a cost 200 USD.
    I really love the tone. requires little or no tweaking, has lots of power. The 110 is rated to play down to 37hz and has a coax. In other words, this is a great amp for jazz.
  4. ultravisitor

Nov 11, 2004
    Cheers for the replies

angelopb, where did you purchase the Eden CXC110? I see them listed at $900USD on the internet, which is a bit too much for my budget.