Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Combo Or Amp And Cab?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Pawn, Aug 19, 2005.

1. Pawn

Pawn

Aug 5, 2005
    Hello, I am new to playing the bass. I'm going to get a GSR200 because of all the good reviews. Now on the AMP...I made a thread asking about combos and decided a used peavey would be the way to go, but i was wondering if a getting a amp and cab would be a better way to go. I dont need a huge Amp just something that can be heard over a drummer and guitar. Maybe i could evean make the Cab...

Thanks.

2. Tryxx

Tryxx Sputnik Forums: Bass Mod

Jun 1, 2005
    Hurst, Texas.
    Look at the FAQ thread, there's a lot more to building a cab than you might know. If you're just going to be practicing solo for recrational purposes for some time, I'd say a combo is the way to go. Really, just to save money, I'd look at the Ibanez starter. Once you're entirely sure you're going to stick with the hobby and have application for a bigger amp, I'd go the stack route.

3. Minger

Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    And Never be afraid to look for used amps. I know that the used Peaveys are pretty much all in good condition because I've heard that they're close to indestructable (speakers anwyays...mine sounds pretty good too)

Heads up...get at least 60 watts though. Anything less and you start playing with other people you won't be heard.

4. xb100

xb100

Mar 24, 2004
    NH, In
    How much $$ are you willing to spend?

And like I have said before, my peavey tnt gets the job done fine with 2 guitarists who have 120 watt 212 combo's.

And trust me they like to play loud, which gives me more reason to crush em :D .

Stick with the peavey, unless you ABSOLUTLEY need a head and a cab to be heard, and if you are playing large shows, where the PA isn't there.

-Rob

5. bassontherun

bassontherun

Jul 9, 2005