Combo recommendations for 80s Hard Rock

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Flavio Echart, May 24, 2017.

1. Flavio Echart

Flavio Echart

May 22, 2017
    Hey, new to the forum, and new to bass world! I'm a long term guitar player that recently started playing bass and taking lessons.

I record my own songs, which are 80s Hard Rock Style. So... I bought an Epi Thunderbird Classic IV Pro (the one with Gibson TB plus pups) and a Tech 21 VT Bass pedal.

Now I want to buy an amp. For recording mainly, so I would like a decent amp under 800 bucks or so... I thought of a good 2x10 combo... here in my country the brands I can find are Ampeg, Hartke, Ashdown, Aguilar and Gallien Krueger.

The Ashdown AAA 300 210t seems a good choice for my style, but I'd really like your opinion as I'm new to the bass gear world!

Thanks in advance!

2. jazzbass_5

jazzbass_5

Sep 1, 2007
    NY, Medina
    Can't go wrong with Ampeg for rock. Love mine.

Flavio Echart likes this.
  3. basscooker

basscooker Commercial User

Apr 11, 2010
    Northern KY
    Cab fan, hobbyist
    All those brands listed produce some fine equipment. Get out and play some of it.

What sort of tones do you like?

kap'n kro likes this.
  4. Flavio Echart

Flavio Echart

May 22, 2017
    Hey! I'm a huge Van Halen fan, but I don't dig Mike's tone so much. And I definetly don't dig Wolfgang's tone.

My thing would be something more Nikki Sixx. I mean, Mötley era...

5. Wicked G

Wicked G

Jan 19, 2017
    Hell Paso Texas
    You should be able to dial in a tone you like with any of those amps. My preference would lean more to the Ashdown and GK with the GK being the brightest of the bunch, but really any of those amps will work. Happy hunting.

6. Flavio Echart

Flavio Echart

May 22, 2017
    I ended up ordering a head + cab... Ashdown RM 500 EVO + 410t!

Tomorrow both arrive, can't wait!

Wicked G likes this.
  7. Wicked G

Wicked G

Jan 19, 2017
    Hell Paso Texas