Combo vs stack

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mrdeadlybass, Jul 20, 2018.

1. mrdeadlybass

mrdeadlybass

Jul 20, 2018
    So I'm a previous metal bassist in my younger glory days now playing in a rockabilly/blues band that does covers and originals. I'm looking took downsize from my 610 and 1000w head. It's just more than I need anymore and I'm tired of lugging it around! Looking for recommendations on what to go with. I'm really wanting a clean/smooth/middy/old school sound. I've been eyeing everything from markbass, Eden, ampeg, etc. I'm having a hard time choosing between a combo or maybe a 210 with seperate head set up that I could add onto in the future. My budget is a measley 600-800 bucks. Any advice would be much appreciated. Bass on

2. Jim Carr

Jim Carr Dr. Jim

Jan 21, 2006
    Denton, TX or Kailua, HI
    fEARful Kool-Aid dispensing liberal academic card-carrying union member Musicians Local 72-147

Don't go combo. Here is my standard rant: Modular rigs are free of the "combo trap" problems, such as: if the amp dies, the speaker is useless, or if the speaker dies the amp is either useless until the whole thing comes back from repair, or you get to lug a combo with a dead speaker as an amp head for a different cabinet.

Oh yes, the combo lover will tell you "it is so much easier," and yes, if plugging in a speaker cable is too hard, your life will be golden. The combo fans also say "moving a combo is easier," which is fine, if it is actually true. Many combos are huge and heavy, though new lighter ones are more portable that the old ~70 lbs combos like the SWR workingman's 15 or Acoustic 136 I used to schlep.

I have an 800 watt head that fits in my gig bag and weighs about 4.5 lbs. Add a good 30 lb cabinet, and I can load-in in one carry—and I am 68 years old! That said, I am much happier with a large rig with tons of power, but that discussion is for another day.