Come talk to me about jazz please

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by TaySte_2000, Aug 22, 2002.

1. TaySte_2000

Jun 23, 2001
    Manchester, UK
    Endorsing Artist: Mojohand, Subdecay, Overwater, Matamp
    I want to be a jazz bass player amungst other things. I don't have many people to talk to I'd like to hear peoples ideas, tips what ever.

2. bcarll

Oct 16, 2001
    Well I am new to jazz myself but I think what you need to do is get some jazz CD's and discover what type of jazz interests you. You might be drawn to the old standards or maybe into modern "free jazz". Either way you need to listen to the music as much as possible then either get a teacher (suggested) or get a great method book that will show you step by step the intro to the world of jazz music. Note reading study is a must! Scales and modes a must! Arpeggios and chord study a must! Learning walking styles a must! Don't think you can run before you walk (PUN) But seriously these are all techniques and studies that are used in bass support for jazz music. I have probably left out some other important lessons or techniques so forgive me. Just don't get discouraged my friend you have a lifetime of study ahead of you whether you are 20 or 80 years old you will never learn it all but you can be a great bass player none the less.