1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Coming from Guitar: suggest me songs to start learning the Bass

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Li Shenron, Apr 22, 2010.

1. Li Shenron

Li Shenron Guest

Mar 17, 2010
    I've just bought my first bass guitar which will be delivered to me in a matter of days. To start learning the bass I have decided first of all to explore grooves and (fairly) repetitive bass lines, by transcribing and practicing excerpts from actual songs, rather than using a book (which is still a valid option however).

Consider that I have been playing the guitar in-and-out for 17 years. I know the guitar fretboard hence I supposedly know the bass fretboard too, and I have a grasp on theory that is beyond what I need. Obviously, being technically able with the guitar doesn't make me able with the bass straight away, so I need to use those songs for practicing bass technique; however the main target at the moment is to "get into what it means to play bass". I don't want to sound like a guitarist playing the bass! :help:

What songs would you suggest me to check out? Feel free to suggest any genre, as long as the suggestions are "groovy" and reasonably easy. I have a Spotify subscription that allows me to listen to millions of songs, hence there's a good chance your suggestions will be available for me to listen, unless they are from obscure bands.

Just keep in mind please that I would like suggestions that...:

- are played with fingers, NOT with a pick
    - use basic fingerpicking, NOT slapping and popping or tapping
    - use clean bass sounds, NOT distortion or other effects
    - are GROOVY (didn't I mention this?), hence no walking bass or fast 8th/16th lines
    - are suitable for someone who isn't new to fretted instruments, but is new to the bass specifically (your judgement!)