Commercial User Policy: My $0.02

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box' started by jobu3, Jan 15, 2005.

1. jobu3

jobu3 Artist formerly known as Big Joe Supporting Member

Feb 17, 2002
    Mountain Top, PA
    Let me say this first: I am not a commercial user. I have no paid affiliation with any manufacturer. I am not reimbursed with discounts, gear, or money for anything I do or say. I'm not even in a band right now.

I know that the people who are paying to advertise are a little peeved that people have stuff in their sigs and whatnot.

My take on the whole situation is that the people with the big banners up at the top and along the sides are the ones who are really advertising their stuff most efficiently. That is the stuff that really jumps out at you from every page. You have to dig a little thoughout the core (the forums) of the site to get to the sigs and the avatars and such. I'm no marketing expert, but I don't think it would detract too much from what the banners are trying to accomplish. To me, it's like getting mad that there are businesses listed in the white pages while they are putting in extra money for the big color ad in the yellow pages or the cover.

I do agree that members, paying or otherwise, shouldn't come right out and start a thread stating we just got this xyz bass or amp in and it's for sale for this much, etc. No blatant spam. Simple as that.