Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Comparing Ibanez GSR-200 to MIM P bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Gandolf Bassist, Jun 25, 2001.

1. Hello, I have an Ibanez GSR-200 as a backup and I like the sound of a Fender P-bass but I havent played one, so I'm wonderin if it would be in my interest to trade my Ibanez and then some cash for a MIM Fender P bass. The Ibanez is in great condition, there are no marks on it what so ever. I've hardly played it!

2. DrunkenJoker84

DrunkenJoker84

May 11, 2001
    My first bass was a GSR200. I strongly believe its the sweetest beginner bass ever. Stick with it, I say.

3. Im no expert, but ive played on heaps of basses and the gsr-200 is one of the most comfortable and best sounding (once u get the crappy factory strings off,) basses ive ever picked up. Ive played loads, even ones costing as much as $2500 and i usualy prefer the ibanez.

I used to have a squire then sold it 5 months after buying it to get the gsr-200, a brilliant bass.
    I love it. Keep it man! You'll be making a mistake if u sell it.

4. If possible, I'd keep the GSR200 and try and get the P bass anyway. The P Bass is easily upgradeable, and relatively cheap. Plus, you'd regret selling your first bass, especially if you got a decent GSR200(very inconsistent in manufacture).

Ever thought about an MIM J Bass? I wouldn't buy one(Fender sucks IMO) but everyone else seems to like them.

5. I have the GSR190,which is the forerunner(I believe)to the 200.It was my first bass,so I will always keep her.Actually a great lil beginner bass.The neck is nice and the body is light.Anyway you can swing keeping the ibanez and still get the P?

If I had to choose one it would probably be the MIM P bass...but I like fenders.

Good luck!