Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Completely new tone in a jazz bass?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by lethargytartare, May 2, 2005.

1. lethargytartare

lethargytartare

Sep 7, 2004
    Chicago
    Ok, I'll confess a few things up front -- I don't know a lot of the really great bassists, just a bunch of popular bassists that I've gotten hooked on in the last 10-15; and I'm very new to gigging, so my sense of the tone I want is very underdeveloped.

All that said, I've been flailing about trying to get closer to something I like, with varying degrees of success. But I'm pretty stymied, so I'm just gonna admit that I would like to get as close to Flea's tone as I can.

I've got a wonderful MIA jazz deluxe, but I just couldn't get the right tone from it (I tried it stock, Ultra-Js, and Barts 9Js). But in terms of fit and feel, the bass is perfect. So I've been going down the road of trying more and more basses -- and I'm considering a couple of trade offers on the MIA deluxe (spector euro, peavey cirrus) -- but that hasn't gone the greatest either. I'm currently playing a Schecter with some huge anonymous pickups, and there's a lot to like, but I'm still not getting some of the upper mids and highs I want. The MIA gets great output across the full range of frequencies, but there's a roundness to the tone that I can quite get -- and some of the "ring" in the upper mids and higs isn't quite there.

So before I let my MIA deluxe go, I figured I should ask around again and see if there are pickups or onboard preamps (or combos of both) that I could outfit my MIA with to get more of that Flea tone. I have been listening to their Hyde Park show a lot lately, and I'm just awed by the tone he gets -- the lows with this upper end that has a zing to it that I think is just fantastic.