Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Compression questions.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Shearstown, Feb 25, 2006.

1. Shearstown

Shearstown

Oct 15, 2005
    I'm a newbie to the concept so i've got a few.

What exactly is compression?
    What does it do?
    How does it work?
    Do I need one for recording?
    Will it cut the hum on my mexican jazz?

2. Nyarlathotep

Nyarlathotep Banned

Feb 5, 2006
    West Coast of Canada
    It bassically places you in a smaller space, volume-wise:
    When your volume goes above a certain amount (threashold) it's lowered by an amount (ratio). Only the volume above the threshold is affected, though some units start to compress before the then. So, if you have a threashold of 10dB and a ratio of 5:1 then if your volume hits 15dB the dB out of the comp is 11. you could then use a gain make-up device (booster) to increase the volume back to 15. This makes your low-volumes seem higher, while you high volumes seem the same (giving you more sustain in the proccess). BTW most compressors have the make-up gain thing built-in.
    Everyone has a pref. I don't use one, but my SansAmp PDDI compresses a little anyway...
    If anything it will increase it. try a Noise Suppressor like the Boss NS-2 (I have one, it works wonders).

3. Shearstown

Shearstown

Oct 15, 2005
    I've heard those also given the term expander.

4. Nyarlathotep

Nyarlathotep Banned

Feb 5, 2006
    West Coast of Canada
    Same dif.

Still, if your looking to silence your bass (when your not playing, of course), the NS is what you need....

5. dunamis

dunamis

Aug 2, 2004
    Charlotte
    They're not the same.