Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

compressor for this application?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by shwashwa, Nov 3, 2005.

1. shwashwa

shwashwa

Aug 30, 2003
    NJ
    i have zero experience with compressors, but i have read all the threads, but my situation is alittle different. i'm an upright player and i also play electric upright. i have some dead spots on both basses that i want to even out. mostly in the upper register. my primary concern is bringing out sustain and equilizing the volume over the entire fingerboard. is there a compressor that is more suited to this than others? also, how important is it to have a know to slect the ratio on the compressor? one more thing. i did try compression once on the upright, and it caused some feedback. i'm guessing because i didnt have it optimally set. are there compressors that would be more advantageous to the upright that are different than the ones that would be better for my solid body upright? thanks in advance!

2. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    Corrupticut
    I would want controls for ratio, threshold, knee, and make-up gain. If it was me I would use my RNC for upright. It has a full set of controls, and can be set to where it is on but doesn't sound like it is there at all.

What you are doing is trying to clamp down on everything to bring it down to the level of the dead spots. So you really want to see gain reduction most of the time. As opposed to the peaks. You would see some gain reduction during normal playing, and none (much less) when you played a weak note. So just having a compression knob with no indicator for the amount of gain reduction, it will be completely hit/miss. By the time you can hear it working, you are probably using too much.