1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

compressor - send or direct?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by project_c, Mar 11, 2009.

1. project_c

project_c

May 8, 2008
    London, UK
    is there a 'correct' way to go through a compression pedal? i can either go straight from bass to comp to amp, or use the send/return on the amp. seems to make more sense to go direct in my mind, but i'm wondering if there's a right and wrong way to do this.

2. 18eranaRic

18eranaRic Banned

Mar 7, 2009
    Malibu, USA
    +1, good question

3. PhilMan99

PhilMan99

Jul 18, 2003
    US, Maryland
    For one, it depends on your compressor and rig.

I'm no expert on The Ultimate Tone(tm), but I do know that the line-in to your bass-amp and the effects-loop (send/return) generally operate at different levels.

In general, the input to your amp operates at "instrument" levels, and the effects-loop operates at line-levels. Most studio-gear operates at line-level (higher voltage).

Stomp-boxes are generally "instrument-level". Rack-mount equipment is often "line-level".

4. A compressor proccesses dynamics, so it will not work in an effects loop unless it's ran in series.
    It must work on all of the signal or it will not work properly.

5. dannybuoy

dannybuoy

Aug 3, 2005
    England
    It can be desirable to run it in the fx loop (as long as you have an fx loop in series, and either a loop that runs at instrument level or a comp that can take line level) if you want to get a bit more grit from your preamp when you dig in but still keep your levels in check.

6. project_c

project_c

May 8, 2008
    London, UK