1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Computer recording/play along

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by CerealKiller, Sep 7, 2008.

1. CerealKiller

CerealKiller

Jul 29, 2008
    Norfolk, VA
    OK...I'm fairly new to this, so bear with me here. I've read through numerous posts through search and am more confused than ever.

What I am shooting for (on a semi-limited budget)........

I have Band in a Box and Sibelius on loan. I am looking at purchasing a good set of speakers for my computer. I'm not looking for surround sound, so right now I'm leaning towards the Promedia 2.1 system.

I know I'll need a soundcard too, but am at a complete loss. The M-Audio 2496 is highly mentioned, but the connections confuse me. It doesn't look like the Promedia system would connect to it. Also, I guess the idea would be to eventually to plug in my bass to it for recordings/play-along. I have read that BIAB requires a card that can handle soundfonts, so possibly a Soundblaster Audigy....but can I plug my bass into it? Is two soundcards out of the question?

I'm looking at getting a good set of headphones to run through it too like the M-Audio Q40 or Equation RP-22X.

Also, would I need a synth???

I have a Peavey TKO115 amp, if that can be incorporated somehow?????

I'm open to all suggestions, but looking for those that do not involve a ton of wiring adapters.

Thanks.

2. MargoBaggins

MargoBaggins

Sep 8, 2008
    Leeds, UK
    Hi Killer :)

Ok, ill try help you one question at a time.