Conditioning Hands

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by tWiStY, Nov 26, 2000.

1. tWiStY

Nov 26, 2000
    I'm a beginner bassist, and i've been playing the hell out of my bass since i got it two days ago, practice practice practice right? But my fingers are totally sore, is there any suggestions in ways that i can condition them, or make it a lil less painful when i play...because i've seemed to have developed a huge blister on my thumb...i like using my fingers and dont' want to use a pick...I know it will get better in time, but just looking for something to do in the meantime...I've heard things such as superglue or clear fingernail polish work...just looking for suggestions

Thanx a lot
  2. pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.
    :) :) Slow up a little, Twisty. Give your hands a little time to toughen up. I strongly recommend that you not try the super glue etc. things. A blister can get infected and that would really crimp your development. That's something that should be reserved for desperate times like the show must go on thing.

I probably can't tell you anything that will help you right now but I can give you some good general advice. Stay healthy. Don't ruin your hearing with loud music. Ear plugs are a super investment. Don't ruin your hands from bad technique. C.P.S. is a very real risk for bass players. Try to find a teacher and take some lessons. A proper start will make your whole career easier.

I can't emphasize strongly enough to listen to a lot of the kind of music you decide to play. Untill you can hear it in your head you can't play it.

Have fun.

3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Someone told me once that in case of a real emergency, such as a gig or recording session, when blisters just begin to rear their ugly heads, to put duct tape on the sore fingers to prevent further problems. Warning: I have NOT tried this advice, but it might help.