Cone Excursion In WinISD

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Donnie B, Dec 28, 2020.

1. Donnie B

Donnie B

Jul 15, 2020
    I am currently attempt in to design a vented 1x15 cab in WinISD, it is my first time using this program and I'm running into some issues. The driver in question is a Celestion BN15-400X and I'm trying to tune at 33Hz. So, the problem is no matter what I do I cannot get the cone excursion below the Xlim of 0.16in at 300W (what my head will put out). At the spike around 57Hz the displacement is 0.375in with my current settings. If anyone could provide any tips, it would be much appreciated. Excursion Plot.jpg Response Plot.jpg Specs.jpg

2. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    TL;DR

But try importing the params from Celestion BN15-400X

And try some other box design software to see if it gives you similar results

Dino Boreanaz likes this.
  3. Dino Boreanaz

Dino Boreanaz Supporting Member

Feb 25, 2018
    Toronto, Canada
    I tried running the OP's model using the parameters from Loudspeaker Database and got exactly the same results as the OP. I also tried reducing the box volume and had to make it VERY small to keep the excursion within Xmax throughout the frequency range. I tried adding a second-order HPF and had to bring the frequency up to 100 Hz in order to keep the excursion within Xmax.

I'm certainly not a speaker designer or an expert with WinISD, but this seems like it may be a poor match of driver to application.

seamonkey likes this.
  4. agedhorse

agedhorse Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 12, 2006
    Davis, CA (USA)
    Development Engineer-Mesa Boogie, Development Engineer-Genzler (pedals), Product Support-Genz Benz
    There are 2 things going on here, they are somewhat related but not entirely.

1. The box tuning is pretty low. Try 40Hz for Fb and I think you will find that you get better performance. 5 cubic feet, port area of 24 sq in, and a port depth of 4"