1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Confessing my new love for the EADGBE machine

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Wilbyman, Apr 4, 2006.

1. Wilbyman

Wilbyman

Sep 10, 2003
    Parkersburg, WV
    Well, I'm a bassist. I was never a frustrated guitarist who gave it up for two less strings. However, it seems like I have always gravitated towards music written and performed by the great guitarists (Holdsworth, Metheny, Grant Green, Wes, Rosenwinkel, Krantz, etc). I also have seemed to wind up working with alot of guitar players for some reason. Maybe I was a frustrated guitarist and didn't know it....anyway. I love low freqs and have spent too much time figuring out this bass thing to switch teams now. However...

I went out last week and got an Ibanez S-470 to play around with. I think I am becoming massively addicted to it. Fortunately I haven't broken any strings because I would be SOL (thanks Floyd Rose!). It's just a fun challenge to try and work your way around that weird B string and learn some new fingerboard geometry. It's also pretty satisfying to hear some new sounds out of these old fingers.

At any rate, I thought I'd confess these transgressions and see if there were any other bassists out here who discovered a little love for the EADGBE.

Mods, feel free to pull this if you just find it offensive :D :D :D

2. P. Aaron

P. Aaron Supporting Member

My daughter had to learn some songs on her plastic recorder for one of those school recitals. I sat by her and helping and encouraging her, and played them for her occasionally to demonstrate better tone & timing to her.

I taught myself; "Doe-Ra-Me" while she watched. I still mess with it.

It's all good.

3. Cerb

Cerb

Sep 27, 2004
    Indiana
    Traitor!