Conklin GT-7 or KSD ProtoJ 5???

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by learning_towalk, Mar 21, 2004.

Conklin GT-7 or KSD protoJ 5

Poll closed Mar 28, 2004.
  1. Conklin GT-7

13 vote(s)
  2. KSD ProtoJ 5

13 vote(s)
  1. well I've pretty much got my choices for a new bass narrowed down between these two basses....I figured I'd bring it to you guys to see what ya think...I've been playing a 6 string for 2 years now, so I'm really used to having my C string there, that's why I'm looking at the GT-7 instead of GT-5.

here's what I'm looking for in a bass...

solid slap tone
    easy for tapping
    easy for other various neck playing techniques
    good growl, but versitle to other sounds

pretty much I need a bass that will let me sound like Wooten at one moment and like a rock bassist(insert various musicians here) at another moment...

thanks a lot.
  2. dwjazz54

Jan 21, 2003
    Jersey City, NJ
    I voted for the KSD, but that's just because I practiacally refuse to play anything more than a six.

The problem is that these two basses are so radically different that's it's hard to decipher why they are the choices you have. I've played both; the KSD has a wicked Marcus-like slap tone and great growl (the ash on maple version), and the GT7 is remarkably easy to play and sounds pretty decent.

Different strokes for different folks is what I would usually say, but the two strokes are almost too different for just one folk.
  3. up, please give some more thoughts on this guys
  4. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    you're really comparing apples to oranges here. on the one hand, the ken smith is a very good jazz bass, with the tone and feel that you would expect, but on the other the gt7 is really it's own instrument - wide range of sounds available, but may not nail the classic jazz bass tone as well as the ksd bass, in favor of a wider range of tonal options.
  5. dwjazz54