Considering a Warwick...have some questions!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Woofenstein, Jun 12, 2005.

1. I've been considering getting a Warwick for a few months now. Every time I go into GC I end up plugging in a Corvette Standard 5 string and loving it! I tend to use a lot of bridge growl in my tone and the 'wick tone would suit my style and tone requirements very well.

What I'd like to know is:

Is there anything bad about the brand (ie - company has been bought out and quality is slipping, etc)? The quality on the Corvette and other Warwicks I see at GC seems to be great. Also, if that is the case, is there a certain year that I should try to buy used?

Thanks in advance!
  2. Dincrest

Sep 27, 2004
    New Jersey
    1997-1998 was a transitional year for Warwick as they switched from all wenge necks to ovangkol necks with wenge fingerboards. The ovangkol necks have chunkier profiles than the wenge necks. Also, the brass just-a-nut was replaced by a graphite just-a-nut and strap buttons replaced flush-mounted straplocks as standard equipment. And they're not any cheaper.

As far as quality goes, Warwick is generally good, but some specimens are better than others. Like any factory bass produced in high/high-ish volume, you're bound to come across a few lemons, some exquisites, and most in the middle. Many say that there has been a drop in quality since those transitional years (1997-1998), but there are also those who'll say there was a slight drop in quality from the early 1990s to the mid 1990s, as Warwick started doing fewer things by hand.

Hence, most people here at TB would recommend buying a used pre-1997 Warwick.