Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Considering joining a cover band for some $$$ - any tips?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Kristopher, Sep 14, 2005.

1. Kristopher

Kristopher

Mar 13, 2005
    Tempe, AZ
    I've been playing in original bands off and on for about 8 years now. I've never made any money doing this and I keep hearing that the cash is in being a hired gun. So I figured the next step would be to join a cover band.

If you've gone this route, how did you get started?

I have decent chops and I can pick things up quickly but I don't know any cover songs. I have pro bass equipment (350 watt Ampeg head and 4x10 Ampeg cab + EB/MM Stingray and Fender Jazz) and a PA. I can read music well enough for 24+ hour preparation but I can't sight read on the spot. My biggest concern is that I'd need a band to work with me because I'm new to the cover scene.

Or maybe there's another way to make some cash as a bassist?

2. I don't think sight reading is a big requirement for cover bands...To me , what's important is the ability to learn songs very quickly, usually very close to the original recording--it doesn't have to be perfect, but it should be sorta close.

Somewhere along the line you've got to decide what genre (style) you want to play, by the way...Party bands play a variety of danceable music, including rock, pop, disco, and new country. Maybe that's the direction you want to go, or maybe you want a high-energy classic rock, or country, whatever.

So, in my opinion, you'll need to get a good core of covers built up, so you can audition for a working cover band that plays what you want to play.