Considering quiting original band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Munroe, May 10, 2012.

1. Munroe

Munroe

Apr 25, 2012
    (Sorry, title should be "quitting", not "quiting")

I'm a gigging bassist that does most of my gigs with the same group of musicians.

Several months ago, four of them asked me to join in their original metal band on the side. I'm mostly a funk/soul player, but always dreamed of playing in an original metal band and playing in all those seedy dive bars where I don't normally get to play, so I agreed.

The problem is that it seems I've bitten off more than I really wanted to chew. The level of investment required is far greater than I was expecting. Instead of spending time playing local shows and having fun (which our gigging schedules don't allow anyway), our dictatorial guitarist demands that we invest lots of time and money into professional photos, websites, fliers, and even tshirts.

...Despite all this, we play like one show a month, and just to an audience of our own friends. Now they're talking about touring (on our own dime). Nobody even knows us in our own city. I secretly feel like the band has no future, and even if it did, I'm still not sure I want to be a part.

When we have meetings, the guitarist often curses the whole band whenever things don't go exactly how he envisions. I hear "**** this, **** that" for 10 minutes straight. I've been personally dragged through the mud behind my back for not sharing their enthusiasm about the band. I dread band meetings, and am beginning to dread rehearsals.

The music itself is decent. The guys I play with are genuinely good musicians, and I've learned to fit into rock bass playing despite my background. Its made me a better player. That said, its not my preferred style of music, so I could take it or leave it. If you can't enjoy the music, at least enjoy the people, and vice versa. I feel like I'm not enjoying either.