Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Considering Warmoth; help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BigBohn, Aug 13, 2002.

1. BigBohn

BigBohn

Sep 29, 2001
    WPB, Florida
    I've been dabbling with the idea of buying parts from Warmoth to make a 6-string fretless. I have no experience in woodworking or the such, but I do have experience with soldering and electronics. I plan on buying everything needed to make the bass; pre-fabricated body, neck w/fingerboard, pickups & preamp, etc.

Would you suggest I do it this route to save a few hundred dollars?

Is it simple enough for me to do it? Would a book help me; can you suggest one?

If this is in the wrong forum, please excuse me and just suggest where this really should go. Thanks for any help.

2. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    I'm a little confused...you said "Would you suggest I do it this route to save a few hundred dollars?"

What other way are you considering?

One thing you may consider, if you're going to buy the body and neck pre-fabbed, is to look at Warmoth's Thrift Shop to see if they have the parts.

3. BigBohn

BigBohn

Sep 29, 2001
    WPB, Florida

This way over buying a bass already made, like I always have done. Never built a bass, but I might like to try if it wasnt that difficult.

But if it is hard, how much do you think a decent luthier would run to put the parts together?

4. If you are getting a Gecko (which you will have to if you want a 6-string warmoth) it should be easy especially if you have experience with electronics, since everything is predrilled, except inserting and slotting the nut, which I would let a professional do.

5. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member